Skip to main content

Who absolutely loves award shows? Well the wait is over. The 2020 Imagen Awards were announced last Thursday during a live-stream ceremony on The Young Turks network. It was Hosted by comedian Aida Rodriguez and the awards honored some of Hollywood’s distinguished talent.

The Imagen Awards program was established in 1985 from a suggestion by veteran television producer Norman Lear. Was encouraged to recognize the positive portrayals of Latinos in the media.

It later started to expand its programs and initiatives to further its mission to serve as a bridge between the Latino community, and the entertainment industry. It provided access, education, and resources for Latinos in the industry.

This was also huge for those seeking careers in entertainment.
“The Power of Our Voices,” awards received first time entries from networks such as Apple TV+ and Quibi taking home wins for Little America and Thanks a Million respectively.

Best Actress in a Feature Film was tied between Jennifer Lopez also known as JLO with the movie Hustlers (STX Films, Gloria Sanchez Productions, Nuyorican Productions) and Isabela Merced for the movie Dora and the Lost City of Gold (Paramount Pictures).

Special performances by recording artists Angela Aguilar, La Marisoul, and Gaby Moreno came together as a unique ensemble. It was all produced and directed by Cheche Alara, to a re-imagined Hallelujah as a ‘Mexican Ranchera,’ exclusively for the Imagen Awards.

Isabela Merced with Apocalipsis and Madison Reyes from the new Netflix Original Julie and the Phantoms delivered the LIVE musical performance of her new hit single Wake Up.

This year’s Imagen (Spanish for “image”) Awards winners were determined by an independent panel of entertainment industry executives and Latino community leaders. Which was a very heartfelt moment for many.

Here is a list of the 2020 ANNUAL IMAGEN AWARDS WINNERS

Best Feature Film: Dora and the Lost City of Gold (Paramount Pictures)

Best Director – Feature Film: James Bobin, Dora and the Lost City of Gold (Paramount Pictures)

Best Actor – Feature Film: Wagner Moura, Sergio (Netflix; Black Rabbit Media, Anima Pictures and Itapoan Productions for Netflix)

Best Actress – Feature Film – TIE Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers (STXfilms, Gloria Sanchez Productions, Nuyorican Productions)

Isabela Merced, Dora and the Lost City of Gold (Paramount Pictures)
Best Primetime Program: Drama: Law & Order: SVU (NBC; Wolf Entertainment & Universal Television)

Best Primetime Program: Comedy: Mr. Iglesias (Netflix)

Best Primetime Program: Special, Movie or Limited Series: Into the Dark: Culture Shock (Hulu; Hulu / Blumhouse Television)

Best Director – Television: Norberto Barba, Better Call Saul (AMC; High Bridge Productions; AMC)

Best Actor – Television: Diego Luna, Narcos: Mexico (Netflix; Gaumont International Television for Netflix)

Best Actress – Television: Jearnest Corchado, Little America (Apple TV+; Apple / Universal Television)

Best Supporting Actor – Television: John Ortiz, Little America (Apple TV+; Apple / Universal Television)

Best Supporting Actress – Television: Manni L. Perez, Law & Order: SVU (NBC; Wolf Entertainment & Universal Television)

Best Young Actor – Television: Izabella Alvarez, Collisions (Fuse; Widdershins Film, Mitchell Street Pictures, Don’t Foam)

Best Variety or Reality Show: Pati’s Mexican Table (WETA Washington, DC / Distributed nationally by American Public Television; Mexican Table, WETA Washington, DC, and FRANK.)

Best Children’s Programming: Elena of Avalor (Disney Junior; Disney Television Animation)

Best Documentary: Sea of Shadows (National Geographic; Terra Mater Factual Studios in association with Appian Way, Malaika Pictures, The Wild Lens Collective for National Geographic Best Documentary Films)

Best Informational Program: VOCES Season 5 (PBS; Latino Public Broadcasting, PBS SoCal)

Best Commercial Advertisement or Social Awareness Campaign: DIY Girls (Orci Studios)

Best Music Composition for Film or TV: Angélica Negrón, The First Rainbow Coalition (PBS series Independent Lens; Nantes Media, LLC)

Best Music Supervision for Film or TV: Índice, Javier Nuño, Joe Rodriguez, Los Espookys (HBO, HBO in association with Mas Mejor, Antigravico and Broadway Video)

Best Short Film: Acuitzeramo (Miguel Angel Caballero; Cabaldana Alchemy)

Best Web Series: Thanks a Million (Quibi; Nuyorican Productions, B17 Entertainment, Universal Television Alternative)

Best Student Film: Milk Teeth (Felipe Vargas, Nick Lopez, Brendan Bennett, and Jamie McNeill; University of Southern California)