Katey SagalActress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal announces the release of her new album, Covered, on Entertainment One Music on November 12, 2013.  Covered, is Sagal’s first studio album in 9 years, and features a duet with Jackson Browne on Steve Earle’s heartbreaking song “Goodbye.”  The album also features covers of songs by noted songwriters Laura Nyro, Joni Mitchell, Ron Sexsmith, Tom Petty, Ryan Adams and more.

Although widely known these days for her multi-faceted role as Gemma Teller Morrow on hit FX series “Sons of Anarchy,” Sagal has had a long musical career in addition to her acting career.  She has sung backup vocals for Bette Midler, Bob Dylan, Tanya Tucker, Gene Simmons and others.  Sagal has released two solo albums to date, 1994’s Well…. and 2004’s Room.  She has also contributed music to the “Sons of Anarchy” soundtrack.

Season six of “Sons of Anarchy,” the highest-rated program in the history of FX, debuted on Tuesday, September 10.

About the album, Sagal says, “Covered is my third solo record. My two previous records were mostly original compositions. This one is not. I was tired of waiting for myself to write, and anxious to make another album.”

On Covered, Sagal is joined by The Forest Rangers, the “house band” of “Sons of Anarchy,” led by the show’s music supervisor and musical director Bob Thiele. Thiele, along with noted songwriter Tonio K, also composed the one original composition on Covered, titled “Follow the River.

Sagal adds, “Covered is the combined effort of Bob and myself, discovering and interpreting an eclectic mix of music that I connected with. Some of the songs reflect on my younger life, and some from music I listen to now…material from Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, Steve Earle, etc. All have personal meaning and reason for me to want to sing them.”

Track listing for Covered:
1. For Free (Joni Mitchell)
2. Roses & Cigarettes (Ray LaMontagne)
3. I Love You But I Don’t Know What To Say (Ryan Adams)
4. Gonna Take A Miracle (Laura Nyro)
5. Free Fallin’ (Tom Petty)
6. Goodbye (Steve Earle) (With Jackson Browne)
7. Secret Heart (Ron Sexsmith)
8. Follow The River (Bob Thiele/Tonio K)
9. Orphan Girl (Gillian Welch)
10. For a Dancer (Jackson Browne)


Show More

Michael Sandoval

Michael created MUSE/MUSE TV after a career in professional sports and journalism. Born and raised in Los Angeles, California. He attended Don Bosco Technical Institute in which he studied Electronics and Computer Science and California State University, Fullerton in which he graduated with a degree from the College of Communication in Journalism. He is a big Foo Fighters fan, loves Star Wars and loves photography. Member of the Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society.

Related Articles

Back to top button