CONCACAF Men's Olympic QualifyingSports

CONCACAF Selections For 2015 Men’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament

USA and Mexico Top in Group Play for CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying.

Los Angeles, CA – CONCACAF held the selections for the Men’s Olympic Qualifying tournament which will be hosted by the United States beginning on October 1 and continue through October 13. CONCACAF currently holds two spots for the upcoming 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

Photo: Silvia Pereida/ M.U.S.E.

FIFA Executive Committee Member and U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati opened the proceedings, which determined the groupings and match schedule for the tournament that kicks off October 1, in Kansas City, Kansas. The event was conducted with the assistance of former US national team players and Olympians Brad Friedel and Eddie Lewis.

Photo: Michael Sandoval/ M.U.S.E.
Photo: Michael Sandoval/ M.U.S.E.

Four cities which feature Major League Soccer Stadiums will be the host sites for the tournament beginning with group play at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kansas home of Sporting KC, Dick’s Sporting Good Park in Commerce City, Colorado home of the Colorado Rapids and  Stub Hub Center in Carson, CA home of the 2014 MLS Champion Los Angeles Galaxy.

It will then end with the semi-finals and finals being held at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah.

Two Groups were selected with 2015 Gold Cup Champion Mexico heading up Group B and the United States in Group A. Group A which will be played at Sporting Park will include Canada, Panama and Cuba. Group B will feature Honduras, Haiti and the winner of Costa Rica and Guatemala Playoff that begins tomorrow in Costa Rica.

In 2012 Mexico and Honduras advanced to the 2012 London Olympic Games with Mexico winning the Gold Medal and Honduras reaching the Quarterfinal round.

The championship will qualify two CONCACAF national teams to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The third place finisher in the CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying Championship will advance to a playoff against CONMEBOL’s Colombia, second place finisher in South America’s Youth Football Championship.

Men’s Olympic Qualifying Group Stage

Group A:

Game 1: Thursday, October 1 – Panama vs Cuba – 3:30pm PT at Sporting Park

Game 2: Thursday, October 1 – USA vs Canada – 6:00pm PT at Sporting Park

Group B:

Game 3: Friday, October 2 – Honduras vs Haiti – 6:00pm PT at Stub Hub Center

Game 4: Friday, October 2 – Mexico vs Costa Rica/Guatamala – 8:30pm PT at Stub Hub Center

Group A:

Game 5: Saturday, October 3 – Canada vs Panama – 11:30am PT at Sporting Park

Game 6: Saturday, October 3 – Cuba vs USA – 2:00pm PT at Sporting Park

Group B:

Game 7: Sunday, October 4 – Costa Rica/Guatamala vs Honduras  – 1:30pm PT at Stub Hub Center

Game 8: Sunday, October 4 – Haiti vs Mexico – 4:00pm PT at Stub Hub Center

Group A at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park:

Game 9: Tuesday, October 6 -  Canada vs Cuba – 4:00pm PT

Game 10: Tuesday, October 6 – USA vs Panama – 6:30pm PT

Group B at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park:

Game 11: Costa Rica/Guatamala vs Haiti – 4:00pm PT

Game 12: Mexico vs Honduras -  6:30pm PT

Men’s Olympic Qualifying Semi-Finals at Rio Tinto Stadium

Game 13: Saturday, October 10 – 1st A vs 2nd B – 1:00pm PT

Game 14: Saturday, October 10 – 1st B vs 2nd A – 4:00pm PT

Men’s Olympic Qualifying Finals at Rio Tinto Stadium

3rd Place Game: Tuesday, October 13 – L13 vs L14 – 4:00pm PT

Final Game: Tuesday October 13 – W13 vs W14 – 7:00pm PT

Silvia Pereida for M.U.S.E. also contributed to this article
Show More

Michael Sandoval

Michael created MUSE/MUSE TV after a career in professional sports and journalism. Born and raised in Los Angeles, California. He attended Don Bosco Technical Institute in which he studied Electronics and Computer Science and California State University, Fullerton in which he graduated with a degree from the College of Communication in Journalism. He is a big Foo Fighters fan, loves Star Wars and loves photography.

Related Articles

Back to top button