George Lucas and Rita Moreno Among The Honorees At 2015 Kennedy Center Honors

Kennedy Center

The 38th Kennedy Center Honors will this year will feature artistic and creative minds from all different backgrounds as George Lucas, Rita Moreno, Cicely Tyson, Carol King, Conductor Seiji Ozawa and The Eagles will be honored.

The awards ceremony will be on December 6, it will then be broadcast on CBS on December 29, 2015.

“Each honoree and their career-spanning achievements exemplify a rare quality of artistic bravery,” said Deborah Rutter Kennedy Center President. “They have pushed the limits of their gifts as musicians, actors, and storytellers to inspire generations of Americans and those around the world.”

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein said about rock legends The Eagles music, “has endured as the quintessential American rock and roll sound for generations.” The core band members to be feted are Glenn Frey, Don Henley, Timothy B. Schmit and Joe Walsh.

The center’s Special Honors Advisory Committee consist of chair Cappy McGarr. The members include trustee Elaine Wynn along with Yo-Yo Ma, Chita Rivera, Julie Andrews, Herbie Hancock, Harolyn Blackwell and Damian Woetzel.

President Barak Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama plan to attend the annual event in Washington DC.

Show More

Michael Sandoval

Michael created MUSE/MUSE TV after a career in professional sports and journalism. Born and raised in Los Angeles, California. He attended Don Bosco Technical Institute in which he studied Electronics and Computer Science and California State University, Fullerton in which he graduated with a degree from the College of Communication in Journalism. He is a big Foo Fighters fan, loves Star Wars and loves photography.

Related Articles

Back to top button