The waiting period for Stop No. 7 of 11 on the 2016 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), the Billabong Pro Tahiti, officially beings today and runs through August 30, 2016. Two-to-three feet (0.5 – 1 metre) inconsistent surf at Teahupo’o has prompted event organizers to call a lay day.

Led by WSL Jeep Leaderboard frontrunner Matt Wilkinson (AUS), alongside world No. 2 John John Florence (HAW) and 2014 WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA), the Top 34 have arrived in Tahiti ahead of the start of competition.

“We are seeing pretty average conditions this morning and there is a lot of wobble in the lineup,” said WSL Commissioner, Kieren Perrow. “The swell has backed off a little from yesterday and the new pulse has not really filled in yet, so we will be off for the day and we will come back tomorrow morning to make the next call. We have a series of southwest to south-southwest overlapping swells coming in that should be quite good when they get here and longer period swells, which is always good for the reef here.”

When competition commences, up first will be Jordy Smith (ZAF), Dusty Payne (HAW)and Ryan Callinan (AUS) in in the opening heat of Round 1.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow at 7 a.m. local time to assess conditions and make a call for competition.

Surfline, forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for:

A modest run of inconsistent SW swell and mid-period SSE/SE swell mix is expected for Friday through the weekend with moderate to fresh trade winds. Stronger SSW swell looks likely to fill in Monday PM and into Tuesday with favorable winds and conditions. Surf eases for mid/late next week. Recent model guidance has trended towards a bit more favorable swell outlook for the last several days of the waiting period.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti has a competitive window from August 19 – 30, 2016 and will be webcast LIVE on as well as the WSL app.

The event is also being carried by the WSL’s LIVE broadcast partners Fox Sports Australia, CBS Sports in the United States, ESPN Brasil, Globosat, Edgesport, Sky NZ, Sport TV, Canal + Deportes, Channel Nine, MCS, Starhub, and Oceanic Time Warner Cable 250 & 1250 in Hawaii.

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Dusty Payne (HAW), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 2: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Alex Ribeiro (BRA)
Heat 5: John John Florence (HAW), Davey Cathels (AUS), Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF)
Heat 6: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kelly Slater (USA), Matt Banting (AUS)
Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS), Nat Young (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 9: Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Josh Kerr (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 10: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Caio Ibelli (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 12: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)

Show More

Michael Sandoval

Michael created MUSE/MUSE TV after a career in professional sports and journalism. Born and raised in Los Angeles, California. He attended Don Bosco Technical Institute in which he studied Electronics and Computer Science and California State University, Fullerton in which he graduated with a degree from the College of Communication in Journalism. He is a big Foo Fighters fan, loves Star Wars and loves photography.
Back to top button