Skip to main content

After five years, Arturo Sandoval is making a comeback to the music scene. His albums’ pre-sale began on Friday, with the release of the first single “Andante Andante” featuring the return of ABBA’s Anni-Frid Lyngstad; marking the first time a member of the Swedish supergroup had re-recorded one of their classics.

This landmark album also contains an unparalleled mix of collaborations with legends and new generation voices from the worlds of Pop, Jazz, Classical & Latin music including: STEVIE WONDER, PHARRELL WILLIAMS & ARIANA GRANDE,PLÀCIDO DOMINGO, CELIA CRUZ, JOSH GROBAN, JUAN LUIS GUERRA, AL JARREAU, ALEJANDRO SANZ, PRINCE ROYCE and DAVID BISBAL.

Born into poverty in Cuba and held back by his government, he risked everything to share his gifts with the world. In the decades since, this astonishing trumpeter, pianist and composer has inspired audiences in every corner of the world and awakened a new generation of great performers. He remains one of the best ever to play.” –Barack Obama (presenting Arturo Sandoval The Presidential Medal of Freedom.)

With eight time Grammy winning producer Gregg Field also working on the list of collaborators, the project saw Stevie Wonder choose to record “People” (which he and Sandoval first performed at a Grammy tribute to Barbara Streisand), whereas Prince Royce turned the tables and recorded Stevie Wonder’s “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing” as a contemporary Bachata.

Many other magic moments materialized as the project grew, such as Alejandro Sanz (who appears on his own duet of “Corazon Partio”) brilliantly suggesting the addition of guitar legend Vicente Amigo to a flamenco infused version of Placido Domingo’s classic “Granada”.

Participating in the album inspired Pharrell Williams to write the new, personal and specifically titled “Arturo Sandoval” with an invitation also extended to Ariana Grande. At Arturo’s own request to his longtime friend Al Jarreau to revisit the famed hit “After All,” the fellow multiple-Grammy winner decided to write a new spoken word introduction. The addition of “The Pyramids, the China Wall… I’ll still be here After All… Mountains may crumble and stars may fall… I’ll still be here After All.” became even more emotional and timeless as it became Jarreau’s final recording, with the vocalist sadly passing away soon after the song’s completion.

Similarly, Sandoval could not envision completing a full duets album without playing alongside the distinctive voice of his beloved friend and Cuban music icon Celia Cruz. The album is rounded out with additional duets with the powerful voice of Josh Groban, revered Dominican maestro Juan Luis Guerra, and Spain’s dynamic pop vocalist David Bisbal.

Ultimate Duets Track Listing
1. “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing” – Sandoval & Prince Royce
2. “Corazon Partio” – Sandoval & Alejandro Sanz
3. “People” – Sandoval & Stevie Wonder
4. “Granada” – Sandoval & Plácido Domingo Ft. Vicente Amigo
5. “Arturo Sandoval” – Sandoval & Pharell Williams & Ariana Grande
6. “Solo Esta Soledad” – Sandoval & Josh Groban
7. “La Bilirrubina” – Sandoval & Juan Luis Guerra
8. “Andante, Andante” – Sandoval & Anni-Frid Lyngstadt
9. “El Ruido” – Sandoval & David Bisbal
10. “After All” – Sandoval & Al Jarreau
11. “Quimbara” – Sandoval & Celia Cruz

Lidia Mosqueda

Lidia Mosqueda, a graduate from California State University Fullerton, has been a news correspondent for MUSE TV since 2017. She has covered various newsworthy events such as; press junkets, film & tv screenings, premieres, concerts, red carpets and other public events. As a bilingual journalist she has written about various musicians and artists in Latin entertainment, helping to bring attention to many Latin American talent, here in the states. As a journalist in the entertainment field. Her goal is to break down the stereotypes and assumptions that surround entertainment journalism.