The Lawrence Arms slates “best of” album

Punk band from Chicago The Lawrence Arms will release their new album “We Are the Champions of the Word” next Friday, March 30 via Fat Wreck Chords.

According to band mate Brendan Kelly bassist/vocalist, from a Fat Wreck Chord press release, “We Are the Champions of the World” is a “best of” album that is comprised of 29 songs showcasing the progression of the band from the past two decades.

“I think you have to have hits to make a greatest hit,” said Kelly “So we approached the song selection in an attempt to be indicative of our evolution, rather than focus on our ‘hits,’ of which, frankly, there are none.”

This album will include five “new” songs among the mix of the others. These songs were previously recorded in 2006 but remained unreleased during the making of “Oh! Calcutta!” because they did not fit the album’s focused and structured sound.

“I hadn’t heard these songs in over ten years,” said Chris McCaughan, guitarist/vocalist. “I’d basically forgotten they existed at all, so listening back to a few of them was initially like stepping into some strange portal—then as soon as I heard them again my memory filled out.”

The new album comes with liner notes that gives their fans a glimpse into their writing process. However, the notes do not reveal any song’s meaning because Kelly said each song has an open interpretation.

“I don’t think that it’s cool to be prescriptive in song meanings because that leads to the erroneous conclusion that the song has one meaning: the songwriter’s intent,” said Kelly. “In truth, songs have no meaning until a listener connects with it and imbues it with what it means to them. I did offer a few of my interpretations of Chris’s songs, and vice versa, because even though I play and sing on his songs, I didn’t write them, so I’m interpreting  them along with any other listener.”


“We Are the Champions of the World” Track List:

1.“On with the Show”
2. “Great Lakes/Great Escapes”
3. “Alert the Audience!”
4. “100 Resolutions”
5. “The Devil’s Takin’ Names”
6. “Beautiful Things”
7. “Quincentuple Your Money”
8. “The Slowest Drink at the Saddest Bar on the Snowiest Day in the Greatest City”
9. “Are You There Margaret? It’s Me, God.”
10. “Right as Rain Part 2”
11. “Seventeener (17th and 37th)”
12. “Chapter 13: The Hero Appears”
13. “The Ramblin’ Boys of Pleasure”
14. “Light Breathing (Me and Martha Plimpton in a Fancy Elevator)”
15. “Like a Record Player”
16. “You are Here”
17. “Boatless Booze Cruise Part 1”
18. “Brick Wall Views”
19. “Sixteen Hours”
20. “Turnstiles”
21. “An Evening of Extraordinary Circumstance”
22. “The Northside, the L&L and Any Number of Crappy Apartments”
23. “Porno & Snuff Films”
24. “Demons”
25. “The Rabbit and the Rooster”
26. “Catalog”
27. “Black Snow”
28. “Laugh Out Loud”
29. “Warped Summer Extravaganza (Turbo Excellent)”

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button