Skip to main content

The United States and Mexico announced their provisional rosters Tuesday for the upcoming Oct. 10 CONCACAF Cup matchup for the right to represent the North, Central America and Caribbean region in the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia.

The U.S. listed 35 players on its roster, while Mexico named 32 players. The two teams will have to select their final 23-man rosters on Oct. 1 from these provisional rosters. In the case of an injury after the finalized rosters have been announced, the team may replace the injured player with a player that is on the provisional roster.

The CONCACAF Cup will be held at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA and has already sold 40,000 tickets, with the rest being distributed through a lottery system on

The CONCACAF Cup pits the winner of the 2013 Gold Cup (U.S.) and the 2015 Gold Cup champion (Mexico). If the same team won both of the Gold Cups, they would have earned an automatic berth into the Confederations Cup.

Being able to play in the Confederations Cup provides a big advantage to those who qualify. The Confederations Cup is held the year prior and at the host country of the next World Cup, which gives teams some time to acclimate to the environment and conditions of the host country.

Mexico represented CONCACAF in the 2013 Confederations Cup in Brazil, while the U.S. earned a berth in the 2009 Confederations Cup in South Africa.

CONCACAF Cup 2015 Provisional Rosters:

United States:

Goalkeepers (4) – Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/England); Bill Hamid (D.C. United/USA); Tim Howard (Everton/England); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake/USA)

Defenders (12) – Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico); DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo/USA); Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City/USA); John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany); Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Greg Garza (Atlas/Mexico); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy/USA); Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Tim Ream (Fulham/England); Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City/England); DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/England)

Midfielders (12) РKyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/USA); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada); Joe Corona (Veracruz/Mexico); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/USA); Fabian Johnson (Borussia M̦nchengladbach/Germany); Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution/USA); Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt/Germany); Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution/USA); Danny Williams (Reading/England); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/USA); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City/USA)

Forwards (7) – Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy/USA); Aron Johansson (Werder Bremen/Germany); Jordan Morris (Stanford University/USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes/USA); Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/Germany)


Goalkeepers (4) – Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga/Spain); Moises Munoz (Club America/Mexico); Alfredo Talavera (Toluca/Mexico); Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey/Mexico)

Defenders (10) – Paul Aguilar (Club America/Mexico); Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad/Spain); Rafael Marquez (Hellas Verona/Italy); Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands); Miguel Layun (Porto/Portugal); Hector Herrera (Porto, Portugal); Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara/Mexico); Arturo Rivas (Tigres/Mexico); Miguel Herrera (Pachuca/Mexico); Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres/Mexico)

Midfielders (9) – Israel Jimenez (Tigres/Mexico); Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven; Netherlands); Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon/Mexico); Jesus Duenas (Tigres/Mexico); Javier Aquino (Tigres/Mexico); Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal/ Spain); Luis Montes (Leon/Mexico); Carlos Pena (Leon/Mexico); Javier Guemez (Club America/Mexico)

Forwards (9) – Oribe Peralta (Club America/Mexico); Raul Jimenez (Benfica/Portugal); Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad/Spain); Carlos Esquivel (Toluca/Mexico); Jesus Corona (Porto/Portugal); Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany); Elias Hernandez (Leon/Mexico); Jurgen Damm (Tigres/Mexico); Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy/United States)