Entertainment

YouTube Pride 2021 Kicks Off Today: Here’s What to Expect

“YouTube Pride 2021,” a 5-hour livestream to benefit the LGBTQ+ community, kicks off today at 12pm PST/3pm EST/8pm BST. 

The event, sponsored by Levi’s® and State Farm in the US, will benefit the Elton John AIDS Foundation, the Trevor Project and akt. It will feature discussions, fan Q&As, musical performances and more from some of the world’s biggest LGBTQ+ icons. The entire livestream can be watched at the YouTube Originals channel.

The event will begin across the pond with British singer-songwriter Olly Alexander and Pakistani-British actor Mawaan Rizwan as they visit an old Victorian pub in East London for a Pride celebration. The two will do a fan Q&A and Alexander will give a performance. Among those joining them are British activist Lady Phyll and British model Munroe Bergdorf.

Following Alexander and Rizwan at 1pm PST/9pm BST will be British YouTuber Daniel Howell as he discusses his past. He will be joined by American YouTuber Tyler Oakley, British YouTuber Abigail Thorn and British singer-songwriter Will Young

English singer-songwriter Elton John and his husband, Canadian film producer David Furnish, will take over at 2pm PST/10pm BST for a Pride celebration in their own home as they will discuss what Pride means to them. Alexander will return for this segment along with special guests American dancer Jojo Siwa, British activist Peter Thatchell and Japanese-British singer-songwriter Rina Sawayama.

At 3pm, American drag queen Trixie Mattel will celebrate the world reopening by taking over a nightclub. Viewers can expect makeup and music with fellow drag queens Denali Foxx, Kim Chi, Monet X Change and Peppermint.

The livestream’s final host will be American singer, songwriter and actor Demi Lovato. A fan Q&A along with guests such as American writer Alok Vaid-Menon, American singer-songwriter Noah Cyrus and the Trans Chorus of Los Angeles. The livestream will close with a performance from Lovato.

In addition to YouTube Pride 2021, there will be another livestream to benefit the LGBTQ+ community on Saturday, June 26 at 12pm PST/3pm EST/8pm BST. In this event, called “MCC Pride 2021,” members of the YouTube gaming community will host a live Minecraft competition to benefit the Trevor Project. Hosts will include YouTubers Joey Graceffa, Smallishbeans and Vikkstar123. This livestream can be joined at YouTube.com/Gaming

View the trailer for YouTube Pride 2021 below:

Show More

Caitlin Cook

Caitlin Cook is a graduate student in the Mass Communication program at California State University, Northridge. Before getting into journalism, she got her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Filmmaking from University of North Carolina School of the Arts. She currently contributes her work to The Daily Sundial and Valley View News. When it comes to journalism, Cook is interested in producing multimedia content about entertainment and tech, seizing every opportunity to advocate for the LGBTQ+ community. A fun fact about her is that she has lived in five different states: Nebraska, Ohio, North Carolina, South Dakota, and now, California.

Related Articles

Back to top button