Skip to main content

The 2021 Hollywood Critics Association Awards is set to air live on the official HCA Facebook page and YouTube channel on Friday, March 5, 2021, beginning at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET. You can also watch the award show here on MUSE TV by clicking the link below:

“2020 was a challenging year for the film industry. As movie theaters worldwide were forced to close due to a global pandemic, studios began to explore new ways to release their films to audiences. As critics, we missed the experience of watching movies on the big screen, but like the studios, we embraced the new normal as we consumed films through various streaming links, apps, and virtual screening platforms,” notes HCA Chairman Scott Menzel.

In order to prepare for tonights events you can see a full list of the HCA nominations which can be found below and pick who you think will take home an award this evening.

The Nominations for the 2021 HCA Film Awards Are:

Best Picture

Da 5 Bloods 

Judas and The Black Messiah



One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman 


Sound of Metal 

The Father 

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Actor

Anthony Hopkins – The Father

Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom 

Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods

Kingsley Ben-Adir – One Night in Miami

Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Elisabeth Moss – The Invisible Man 

Frances McDormand – Nomadland 

Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman

Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Zendaya – Malcolm & Marie 

Best Supporting Actor

Bo Burnham – Promising Young Woman 

Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah 

Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami…

Paul Raci – Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

Amanda Seyfried – Mank 

Ellen Burstyn – Pieces of a Woman

Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy 

Olivia Colman – The Father

Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Best Animated or VFX Performance 

Ben Schwartz – Sonic the Hedgehog

Cathy Ang – Over the Moon

Honor Kneafsey – Wolfwalkers 

Jamie Foxx – Soul

Tina Fey – Soul 

Best Male Director

Darius Marder – Sound of Metal 

David Fincher – Mank 

Lee Isaac Chung – Minari 

Shaka King – Judas and the Black Messiah 

Spike Lee – Da 5 Bloods

Best Female Director

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Eliza Hittman – Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Regina King – One Night In Miami

Sofia Coppola – On the Rocks

Best Original Screenplay

Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of The Chicago 7 

Abraham Marder & Darius Marder – Sound of Metal

Andy Siara – Palm Springs

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Lee Isaac Chung – Minari 

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Florian Zeller – The Father 

Jonathan Raymond & Kelly Reichardt – First Cow 

Kemp Powers – One Night in Miami

Ruben Santiago-Hudson – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom 

Best Cast Ensemble

Da 5 Bloods

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman

The Prom

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best First Feature

Channing Godfrey Peoples – Miss Juneteenth 

Darius Marder – Sound of Metal 

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Radha Blank – The 40-Year-Old Version

Regina King – One Night In Miami 

Best Animated Film


Over The Moon


The Croods: A New Age


Best International Film

Another Round


I’m No Longer Here

La Llorona

Two of Us 

Best Documentary

All In: The Fight For Democracy 

Boys State

Class Action Park 

Dick Johnson is Dead


Best Action

Bad Boys for Life 

Birds of Prey



The Old Guard

Best Blockbuster

Birds of Prey

Sonic the Hedgehog


The Old Guard 

Wonder Woman 1984

Best Comedy/Musical

Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga

On the Rocks 

Palm Springs 

The Personal History of David Copperfield 

The Prom 

Best Horror


His House



The Invisible Man

Best Indie Film 

Black Bear 

First Cow 


Miss Juneteenth

Palm Springs

Best Short Film



Cops And Robbers

If Anything Happens, I Love You

The Heart Still Hums

Best Cinematography 

Erik Messerschmidt – Mank

Dariusz Wolski -News of The World

Joshua James Richards -Nomadland

Hoyte van Hoytema – Tenet

Martin Ruhe – The Midnight Sky

Best Stunts

Birds of Prey



The Old Guard

Wonder Woman 1984

Best Score

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Mank

Emile Mosseri – Minari

James Newton Howard – News of The World

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Soul

Alexandre Desplat – The Midnight Sky

Best Original Song

Husavik (My Hometown) – Eurovision Song Contest

Rocket to the Moon – Over the Moon

Speak Now – One Night in Miami

Turntables – All In: The Fight for Democracy

Wear Your Crown – The Prom

Best Hair & Makeup

Deborah La Mia Denaver and Adruitha Lee – Birds of Prey

Eryn Krueger, Mekash Patricia Dehaney, and Matthew Mungle – Hillbilly Elegy

Kimberley Spiteri, Colleen LaBaff, Gigi Williams, and Michelle Audrina Kim – Mank

Matiki Anoff, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Larry M. Cherry, Sian Richards, Deidra Dixon and Jamika Wilson – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Angela Wells and Daniel Curet – Promising Young Woman

Best Costume Design

Erin Benach – Birds of Prey

Alexandra Byrne – Emma

Trish Summerville – Mank

Ann Roth – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Suzie Harman – The Personal History of David Copperfield

Best Production Design

Kave Quinn – Emma

Donald Graham Burt – Mank

Mark Ricker – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Cristina Casali – The Personal History of David Copperfield

Jamie Walker McCall – The Prom

Best Film Editing

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Frédéric Thoraval – Promising Young Woman

Yorgos Lamprinos – The Father

Andy Canny – The Invisible Man

Alan Baumgarten – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Visual Effects

Kevin Souls and Thrain Shadbolt – Birds of Prey

Ged Wright – Sonic the Hedgehog

Andrew Jackson – Tenet

Jonathan Dearing – The Invisible Man 

Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, Dave Watkins, and Max Solomon – The Midnight Sky